Popovers!

by tina

popovers02

popovers01

Happy 2015~!!

A couple of weeks ago, I dined at a restaurant with friends and they served popovers instead of bread as starters. The popovers were lightly crisp on the outside and soft, fluffy, and eggy on the inside–Reminded me of a combination of soufflé and mochi bread. They were so delicious, and quite frankly I was mind blown that it was the first time that I had ever heard of popovers!

The very next day I started researching for a good recipe and came across Chef John’s recipe on Allrecipes.com. The recipe seemed pretty easy and had many positive reviews, so I decided to try it out. After I made it the first time, I decided to experiment and make different flavors. Here is my version of the recipe with my personal tweaking.

Ingredients:

  • unsalted butter (for greasing the pan)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk (2% or non-fat would probably work too)
  • 1 cup cake flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used a little less of this since cheese has salt)
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup thinly grated mild cheddar cheese
  • garlic, granulated and unsalted (optional)
  • parsley (optional)

(makes 9, using a cupcake/muffin pan)

popovers03

popovers04

Directions:

Grease the muffin tins with butter.

Place the eggs, milk, flour, salt, and cayenne pepper together in a small mixing bowl.

popovers05

Whisk with a hand mixer until smooth. You may need to manually mix in the sides.

popovers06

Pour the batter into each of the muffin tin, filling them about 3/4 of the way up the sides.

The first row (from left to right), I sprinkled about 2 teaspoons of grated cheddar cheese over each of the batter. The middle row, I sprinkled about 3 pinches each of granulated garlic, and added about 2 teaspoons of grated cheddar cheese over each of the batter. The last row, I sprinkled about 3 pinches each of parsley, 3 pinches each of granulated garlic, and then added about 2 teaspoons of grated cheddar cheese over each of the batter.

popovers07

Place the pan in the cold oven (not preheated), and turn the heat to 450F. Bake until puffed and well-browned. For me, they took 23 minutes to bake.

popovers08

The parsley/garlic/cheese combination is my favorite. Enjoy!

One Comment to “Popovers!”

  1. The first time I had popovers were at Alexander Steakhouse and I thought they were amazing! I may need to give this recipe a go. Good stuff, Tina!

Leave a Reply

